Moodboard – Cocteau Twins

cocteau-twins
Cocteau Twins: (From left) Simon Raymonde, Robin Guthrie, Elizabeth Fraser

I’m taking a break from writing…or rather, I’ve got an idea for a story and I’ve decided to forgo a poem for today. It’s only today though. My mind is currently engaged in a spat between Reason and Stream Of Consciousness, and I’m not really sure where I should go. So I thought of doing a post that has absolutely nothing to do with my writing at all. Let them spar, I say. And the idea of doing a moodboard, where I talk about the inspiration behind the words, has been sitting in my mind for the longest. You know…I might as well, heh.

Ooh, where do I start with them? They’ve been a massive inspiration for me. Elizabeth’s voice frequently morphs from forlorn albatross to the elusive siren on the rocks, and then to the tender mother suckling her rosy child. She swoops and soars along with the dreamscapes their music evokes. Her lyrics evade the comprehension of the human mind. Think of their music as an eternal aubade, to the sunrise of euphoria. When my mind decides to fizzle out, I put on their music and go for a quick travel along the seams of my unfettered imagination. And then, magically, the internal knots disappear. Their music is a very comfortable vacuum of peace.

I love, love, LOVE their song titles too. How abstract can titles get? Very.

I think they would make great writing prompts. I don’t even know the meaning of most of their titles. I read somewhere that Fraser used to ransack really old dictionaries for the more obscure words, and she would string them together, like whimsical charms on a wonky bracelet.

Here’s a few:

How To Bring A Blush To The Snow

Alas Dies Laughing

Serpentskirt

Sugar Hiccup

The Spanglemaker

A Kissed Out Red Floatboat

Great Spangled Fritillary

Even the artwork is beautiful – the perfect match for their music. I’m besotted with their album art. Thanks to Vaughan Oliver, and the design companies 23 Envelope and v23, who did their artwork, and almost everyone else’s under the 4AD record label. Here’s an article where he’s interviewed about his deisgn principles.

tumblr_n1gvbsk7AE1qzk6vno1_1280
The album art for Pearly Dewdrops’ Drops/ The Spanglemaker

And last, but not least: an essential Cocteau Twins mix!

 

One thought on “Moodboard – Cocteau Twins

Leave a Reply

