Quote – Romesh Gunesekera, “Reef”

romesh-gunesekera-reef
Photo by Roman Kraft

“I could lose myself in his voice; this happened not only on that first day, but frequently over many years. Sometimes I would miss the instructions he was trying to give me, but he didn’t always notice. I think he himself was sometimes entranced by his voice and lost the sense of what he had started out to convey. Perhaps that was why he sometimes preferred to be silent. I could understand that. My head also sometimes seemed more full of words than could ever pass my lips.”

– Romesh Gunesekera, Reef


2 thoughts on “Quote – Romesh Gunesekera, “Reef”

Leave a Reply

