Peanut Butter Sandwich Seppuku

Once, I thought
that my peanut butter sandwich
had committed seppuku
as a flash of yellow split

crusty, disgusting innards
that seemed to be filled
with too many tapeworms
documenting its pitiable existence.

I watched in terror
as the excrutiating sulphur
sundered itself

from a porous womb dotted
with holes, utterly sober
in its last moment of life

to join the eternity
of my pristine plate.

It slowly melded
with the shape of the sphere,
blotting out the white –

a newly hatched embryo
floating in a never-ending dream.

I very nearly screamed

but it turned out
only to be a trick
of me poor eyes –

the work of scattered walnuts
casting some diabolical nonsense
with my breakfast-ardent stomach

© Zelda Reville


Strictly not for the faint-hearted.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Sandwich Seppuku

Leave a Reply

