Self Doubt And Syphilis

There’s too many people here
too much chips, not enough grit
(grit is something that birds eat)
self doubt and syphilis

You could have it so much better
so prophesied Mother and Teacher
floating dreams of a tangible future – well…could it be…?
self doubt and syphilis

Piss drunk on your own legend
as the summer cried in melancholia
no worries, let it rip – psychoanalysis is your new toy:
self doubt and syphilis

It’s easy to be a cynic
even better becoming an academic
self doubt and syphilis?
shut up son! Time for you to go to work

Does sorting out the files after 12
still make you dream of that Maserati,
or of having your cocktail passed by Letitia?
Sing that chorus now in the hall of nobody!

Facebook, twitter, instagram –
effigies of perfection, or a deflated ego’s instruments?
good or bad, contrarians or mainstreamers –
self-doubt and syphilis, how do I sign up as a keyboard warrior?

© Zelda Reville


Just in case you were wondering – the original title has been lifted from one of Matt Bellamy (singer/guitarist of Muse)’s more cryptic utterings. What the hell does it mean? I don’t know, but it makes for a very good writing prompt…

7 thoughts on “Self Doubt And Syphilis

  1. Our modern techno-addicts feeding off their own keyboards in order to suck off all the information from the techno highway. Brilliant.

    See, this is what I am talking about. I love this kind of writing. Your not afraid to experiment with words or imagery. You are exactly like me in writing styles and different. I took the time last night to read all your poems and your interview you did with ‘Wire’s dream’. You and I, are exactly somewhat the same in taste of poetic challenges and surrealism. I couldn’t believe there’s someone here on WordPress who loves writing like this and I don’t feel alone. I bet you get readers saying to your work that its weird…same way I feel when people read my work.

    You are super talented and amazing. I’m blessed to know you and I don’t know when I’d like to collaborate with you. but I do…

    I want us to correspond more through email if you don’t mind. I want us to get to know each other and our works in poetry. If that’s okay with you? If not its cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Charlie, thank you for reading my work. I thought I was quite alone with my wordsmithing madness and it seems that I’ve been wrong. I’ve been trying to figure out where I fit exactly. It’s only been recently that I took the leap to write like this. I came across your work on the SD website and it was quite amazing to run across someone who writes in a similar vein as I do! I haven’t had people call me out on weirdness (though I’m unsure if I’ve been shouting in a empty room, to put it metaphorically) yet. I’m all ears and hands for a collaboration.

      I’m out at work now, so could I drop my email address at your contact page when I get back? I’m looking forward to bouncing off words with you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

