Riddle #1

I am the
Mother-in-law
of Punctuation,

contained
in a spherical dot of ink,

your tireless traffic warden
of syntax and sentences –

Admittedly, I’m not very likeable.
“Sparse, cold, uncaring”
remain the verses of countenance.
Even The Guardian tried
to get a veto against me

but no one can deny my job
as a third party revelation
for disinterested readers,

me entering
grammarian territory
as slang for the end
of anything – like, ever –

being the dreaded obstacle
to wearisome writers;
or the angelic godsend
to half-asleep readers.

I like efficiency.
I like being snappy.
My favourite pastime
is severing hideous
relationships of continuation
that serve no meaning whatsoever.

I do my job
by simply turning up 

at the right place and time.

If two more of me
would morph into the ellipsis,
the opposite polarity descriptive

of daydreams, wanderers
and sleepy conversations:

what exactly am I?

© Zelda Reville


Riddles! Riddles! Who likes riddles?

2 thoughts on “Riddle #1

  1. You are mocking and fighting between grammatical, & punctuation’s of its foray.
    Yes, this is exactly how it should be written. You nailed this one right at the readers minds.

    The juxtaposition really brings every set creativity together and its unusual manner of what I love about your writing. Gosh! how I love your work. You are my favorite and you are beautiful as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

