Poem “To Gongyla” published in Figroot Press’s Sappho tribute issue

girl-with-fern
Photo by Caique Silva on Unsplash

I am proud to announce that my poem, “To Gongyla”, has been published in the September issue of Figroot Press, a very special issue wholly dedicated to celebrating Sappho and her poetry. Please excuse me while I cradle my head, it’s been utterly wrecked by reading these exquisite pieces now fluttering around in my mind like angry lacewings. Aaaah! And before I forget, here’s the link to the issue. Happy reading!

12 thoughts on “Poem “To Gongyla” published in Figroot Press’s Sappho tribute issue

      1. Your work is the best promotion of all. Great writing sells itself. The only problem you may have is limited exposure, which word of mouth is usually the best way to get noticed, as slow as that can be. Let your words speak… and you will always have sincere fans…the best kind of fan.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks (or no thanks) to the Internet… there is waayyy more exposure and exponentially less commercial opportunities for “working” poets, writers, etc. So someone who would have never been read now can attract a global audience…and make zero dollars for their efforts. How one processes or makes value judgements on this is up to them… but it is fact that in my youth people made money doing what people now practically pay editors to achieve (small book deal in exchange for free copies and no royalties). In fact there a MAJOR academic publishing companies that f**king CHARGE writers hundreds to THOUSANDS of dollars to publish in their journals because they know so many people are desperate to get published and build their resumes. It is despicable.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I do agree with you, Daniel – the Internet can be a double edged sword. In fact this is what makes me so wary of it, and I’m pretty sure that it’s not only you and me that knows what’s really happening. Others could say we’re picking on the problems and that inclusiveness should be strived for, but equality can also easily become an ambiguous tool for exploitation, like the case you’ve mentioned above. It’s an incredibly thorny issue that one has no definite answer for. Perhaps it’s largely dependent on one’s definition of value…I can’t say I’m not materially driven, but I am aware that the concrete world is not the be-all and end-all of existence itself.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It depends on which “equality” we are striving for. The true, just fight is for equality of opportunity… but I am seeing a rather shall we say “insane” demand for “equality of outcome”… meaning that there can be no more merit.

        Thus we see certain hard working people being called “privileged” merely because their effort led them to advance further in society, for example white racists verbally attacking immigrant Filipino families for achieving more material wealth solely due to decades of struggle and sacrifice as immigrants. In such a case we commonly hear that such an immigrant family had an “unfair” advantage (economic/social assistance for new citizens) somehow over the 3rd generation born citizen who never strived or applied themselves. It also goes the other way: anti-white sentiment that indiscriminately blames “the collective” for individual sins, that achievement among Caucasians is automatically and exclusively a byproduct of privilege; that zero work, pain, sweat, or sacrifice was involved. Neither group should be collectively condemned or deified for the actions of its individuals.

        The one that drives me the craziest is white supremacy…because it is almost invariably low IQ, non-achieving whites who think the fact that Mozart was white makes they THEMSELVES part of what made him great, like “Mozart-ness” is an inherent trait of all white people! “Equality of outcome” thinking in this instance makes the ludicrous and/or mildly insane false assumption that there is equivalency in potential… no matter what.

        But I might be old fashioned. I 100% personally believe that those who I think are much better musicians/poets/writers than I should absolutely receive MORE advancement, commercial success, and critical acclaim than I do… and there are a staggering amount of them! But this is often not the case… because (talent and opportunity aside) I have worked waaayyyyyy harder than they have. Equality of outcome would be unfair to me or anyone else.

        You should be published more than I because I think you have earned it. That to me is a fair value judgement!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

